on entertainment

Now that school’s over and I’m excited about summer projects, not buying’s going to get more difficult. I want a bike trailer – it would be useful, I think. Since my bike rack broke I’ve been enjoying the lightness of a bike without cargo, but I do miss the ability to carry my life around with me for a couple of weeks. I took that bike touring in Tas a little while back, and it was amazing. Having the cargo capacity of a trailer (but being able to quickly disconnect it and have a supergofast lightbike) will be aces.

I have other projects too, like fixing the garden and reading more. But they won’t break the rules, I think.

But what I want to talk about is movies, and entertainment more generally. Because I walk past the drivein cinema screens every night after work, I’ve been thinking about cinema a lot. I tend to think of entertainment as not consuming. After all, in a cinema I’m not actually using anything, or paying for its use – except electricity, I suppose, and upkeep on plush chairs. But this is an aversion of the responsibility for supporting big budget bonanzas which fly film crews all around the world, support the lifestyles of the rich and famous, blow things up in industrial proportions and generally make a mess.

Not that it’s necessarily a big deal. I mean, it’s a pretty long bow to draw claiming that by watching a movie I’m making myself liable for the entire downfall of the ecosystem and life as we know it. But I think it’s interesting to consider, and there’s a case to be made for prioritising the small theatre over the big movie, the musical your friend’s in over the broadway show.I think it would have the same – or at least a similar – effect in the making-of-happy for the watcher, and adds the benefit of, in the words of CrimethInc., a “readership of authors” – a culture of entertainment in which all who want to be watched, can be.

Leave a Reply

